top of page

Winter's Orbit by: Everina Maxwell

*this review copy was sent to me by the publisher per my request, in exchange for an honest review/publicity*


Rating: 3.75

TR: Domestic violence and past abuse


Okay, so I don’t usually read a lot of sci-fi. On the sci-fi/fantasy scale I’m solidly in the medieval fantasy side, which is like the complete opposite of like sci-fi. But, when I read the synopsis of this book I knew I had to read it. Who doesn’t love a good queer murder mystery? Plus, one of my personal goals this year was to try to get into more sci-fi because I hate that I over look it so often. This one ended up not being quite what I wanted, but it was still a good read. Though I do have some qualms. A lot of people have been giving this book 5-star reviews, so it’s certainly an enjoyable book! I think it just missed the mark a bit for me.


Summary from Amazon:


“Prince Kiem, a famously disappointing minor royal and the Emperor's least favorite grandchild, has been called upon to be useful for once. He's commanded to fulfill an obligation of marriage to the representative of the Empire's newest and most rebellious vassal planet. His future husband, Count Jainan, is a widower and murder suspect.


Neither wants to be wed, but with a conspiracy unfolding around them and the fate of the empire at stake they will have to navigate the thorns and barbs of court intrigue, the machinations of war, and the long shadows of Jainan's past, and they'll have to do it together.


So begins a legendary love story amid the stars.”


This book highlights some touchy subjects, but the author did so in a very careful, thoughtful way. The abuse we learn about in this book was never romanticized, nor was it brushed off. It was a key feature in understanding one of the protagonist’s actions and reactions and I felt it was handled very well. Speaking of protagonists, I thought Maxwell wrote some very compelling, loveable characters. This is a Bel fan club, we love a strong, capable woman. I love Kiem so much, he’s got chaos brain and charisma to back it up and I appreciate that. I love Jainen too, though his awkwardness and need to apologize for everything hits so close to home. Maxwell really said that the dynamic between Kiem and Jainen WILL be painfully awkward and you will have to just live with it. Like, it wasn’t accidentally awkward. It was carefully awkward in a way that I think we can all relate to. Learning to navigate another person, leaning to understand their thoughts and actions is something that’s always awkward and touchy. Let me tell you, Maxwell did a fantastic job bringing the reader along for the whole awkward ride. As this was also a dual-POV story, the poor communication between Jainen and Kiem was right on display. Which, I thought was clever. Often times in a romance centered book, you don’t really know what the love interest is thinking. Having this dual-POV really allowed for their miscommunication to be highlighted, as we knew what they were both thinking.


My only complaint with the protagonists was that we knew a lot about Kiem’s past but I didn’t feel like we got much from Jainen. I mean like prior to Taam. He was still a person who existed prior to marriage and I’d like to have known how much that first marriage to Taam changed him, personality-wise. We know he’s smart and strong before and after. There was some great, complex world building. A whole lot of sci-fi things that went over my head but weren’t really confusing. The way gender was displayed within the book was also something that felt inventive and very inclusive. Gender only related to wearing very specific accessories. Something wooden for men, flint for women, and neither (and maybe glass? I don’t entirely remember) for non-binary. I liked that, it really highlighted the fact that the people in Iskat could really identify however they chose and it wasn’t based on perceived biological sex. Gender is a construct.


The story starts off relatively slow, but the last half of the book made it totally worth it. I added that extra .75 of a point just for the turn around in the second half. The pressing investigation into some sus things that the military is doing coupled with the realization that Taam wasn’t what we thought he was (no spoilers here), was riveting. Though I will say that I knew who the culprit was the second we met that person. It just didn’t make any sense to me that they would be so gracious for no reason. But all the twists and turns and the immense tension was fantastic. It was also heart-breaking because we got a look into Jainen’s immediate past. It was really upsetting to see what he went though, but it was also very well done. The whole chunk with the Tau field was very well done as well, extremely engrossing.


I always start with the good, now let’s hear the bad. I’m as dramatic as they come when it concerns my reading taste, and I cut my teeth reading darker/more dramatic/tense romances. This one wasn’t really that. It was a bit fluffier than I had anticipated. Which is something that I didn’t personally care for. I don’t think it’s a bad thing, it just doesn’t hit for me. I know that there are tons of people who would love this because of that. But at the same time, the “beginning” of their relationship felt stark. There was a ton of miscommunication and misunderstandings, then as soon as they clearly communicate they are now romantically inclined. There was no real tension, no drama I guess. It was very “we’re married for political reasons, he clearly hates me (or so they both thought)” to “now we love each other and we are in an actual relationship”. There was less focus on the way the relationship was building in the background and more focus on the problems they were constantly having due to their problems communicating.


Another problem I had, I couldn’t possibly tell you what the protagonists look like. I know that they’re both POC, but I can’t remember much about their features specifically. I already have a tough time imagining characters, so when an author is very scant in describing the characters, I have a bad time. I’m not saying that they were never described. What I’m saying is that we got their physical descriptions like 10-40 pages in probably and we didn’t get very much continued reference to their physical characteristics in the rest of the book. I just like a little reminder now and then. I like when the characters fondly describe what their SO looks like because they’re just so enamored. It might not have made much sense for Jainen’s POV, but Kiem is exactly dramatic enough to do that. We got small snippets every now and then, but that’s really it. I just like a reminder.


I liked Bel, like I said, but she felt like a bit of a bail-out. Like she was the character who could do exactly everything that they needed to be done. Like it feels lazy to have these side characters who have a sketchy past and therefore can help you commit any crime that you need to be done. She didn’t seem to have the personality of an enabler so I don’t know why she became one. It felt like the easy way out. I know Kiem isn’t very capable of subterfuge or anything technical on his own, but I think I’d have preferred seeing him go in chaotically and just fumbling his way though. He has the personality of someone who could do that. Charm his way into the base even. I still love Bel though, don’t take this as Bel hate. This is just kind of trope fatigue.


I think I’ve said all that I feel about the book. It wasn’t quite what I was hoping for, but it was still very good. I love Kiem and Jainen and I wish them the best. Can I have a short story of them being happy and not being in constant political peril? I would like that. If you like romances that are less gritty, a murder mystery in space, political maneuvering, strong female side characters, a protagonist with a sad back story, and some big misunderstandings between love interests, this one will really do it for you. Like I said, I’ve seen a lot of good reviews for this book. Most of the problems that I had with the book were personal preference. I think this is could still be a staple queer love story with a tense plot to back it up. Thank you so much to Tor for sending me a copy of this book for review! Winter’s Orbit by: Everina Maxwell is available in hardback, audiobook, and ebook format where books are sold! (I read the physical book, but I feel like this would be a very good audiobook. The awkwardness would be super painful but like in a good way.)

Comments


bottom of page