top of page

The Last House on Needless Street by: Catriona Ward

Rating: 4.5/5


*I was gifted a copy of this book by the publisher in exchange for an honest review*



If there is one thing that I can undeniably say about this book, it's that it was a thoroughly unique read. The horror/thriller elements were laid out in such a way that the book moved forward seamlessly. It was one of the most compelling reads of 2021 for me, even if it didn't end up being five stars.



Summary:


"In a boarded-up house on a dead-end street at the edge of the wild Washington woods lives a family of three.


A teenage girl who isn’t allowed outside, not after last time.

A man who drinks alone in front of his TV, trying to ignore the gaps in his memory.

And a house cat who loves napping and reading the Bible.


An unspeakable secret binds them together, but when a new neighbor moves in next door, what is buried out among the birch trees may come back to haunt them all."



This one was special for how the little details come together to form one big picture. It was very cleverly written so that you felt like there was something constantly on the edge of your comprehension, but still just out of reach. And this was all small, minute details that are very easy to overlook initially. If you’re not actively paying attention while you’re reading, then it’s likely that you won’t notice the small hints scattered here and there. And it’s made even more difficult to grasp given the fact that there are unreliable narrators left and right. But that is what makes it such a compelling book. The attention to detail was honestly immaculate; so much so, that it almost makes you want to reread the book with the ending in mind just to grasp how much you overlooked in your initial read.


In a way, the hints and minute details sprinkled throughout bring you into the story. It gives the reader a fragmented feeling, as though being in the complicated mind of the characters. It leads to a feeling of being kind of “off” especially for the POVs that aren’t Dee. Though the reliability of her own account is spotty at best. And this is really the beauty of the book. The nature of the careful world/character building that is done in a way to drop hints for the ending making it engrossing. I think I read this book in about two-three days because I never wanted to put it down. That, coupled with the excellent writing makes this a compelling read that all horror/thriller fans should read. It takes a hard look at trauma and the realistic affect it can have on people.


I’ll say now that this bit has potential spoilers, but I’m still going to be vague. Mental illness was featured prominently in this book, but I want to give the author props for using it effectively. Authors have been known to use mental illness to prop up a sloppy plot line, rather than in any meaningful way. It was clear that the mental illness featured in this book was heavily researched and carefully done. It wasn’t a crutch, it was a meaningful, well-executed aspect of the book. One such that highlights the effect of mental illness on a person's entire demeanor and the circumstances of such, particularly as the events of this book played out.


Now, did I like the ending of the book? I know a lot of people did, but for me it felt anti-climactic and just sad (well, sad for one party at least). It was certainly a twist, but something about the thing with Lulu and Dee felt unrealistic. I can’t be more specific than that, but it just felt kind of off to me. And then the whole Ted thing just felt anticlimactic. I keep saying that I came into this for horror and I ended up with something else, “a story of survival” I think is how it was referenced and it just wasn’t for me. As bad as it sounds, I think I’d have vibed better with a "bad" ending.


In the case of this book, I believe that the good heavily outweighs any bad. It was one of the most creative horror books that I’ve read in awhile, so much so that I could hardly put it down. And to be fair, most people actually do like the end, I’m kind of an outlier here. It’s a very dark, gritty read that takes childhood trauma and the effects of such very seriously. Its like a breath of fresh air in its execution. If you’re interested in reading, The Last House on Needless Street by: Catriona Ward will be available in the US on September 28th! Thank you so much to @tornightfire for sending me an ARC to read and review (AND the AMAZING Olivia pin).

bottom of page