top of page

Shiver by: Junji Ito Book Review

Rating: 5/5


Part of the reason I read this book was so that I could understand the new Funko Pops coming out that are related specifically to this book (you know that I preordered Tomie). Now that I've read it I can say that this is my favorite Junji Ito short story collection so far. It just barely edged out Fragments of Horror but I must say that I really enjoyed it. I don't think there was a short story in this collection that I really didn't like. "Honored Ancestors" was probably the one that I liked the least. It was just kind of meh. But on the whole, this collection was just wild. There are some big trigger warnings for this book though, mostly just for those who are trypophobic. I would NOT read this book if you have trypophobia because of the story "Shiver" and the story "Greasy" (though this one is disgusting for entirely different reasons). "Greasy" really messed me up, it made me want to throw up because it was so gross, my reaction to one specific page was almost visceral. Just know that "Greasy" is disgusting, when you get to the part that I'm talking about, you'll know. But that's what makes this book so good! When a horror story can make you feel something viscerally, then you can't help but applaud it. I also want to say that I liked the inclusion of the author's notes and the storyboards/ideas at the end of each story. It added to the book because you got to understand where he got his ideas from. Just him getting scary things from the mundane or from his dreams. Even though you should skip the short story "Shiver" if you have trypophobia, this whole book is a very good read. It's very worth it.


Favorite story:"Used Record"

Least favorite: "Honored Ancestors"

bottom of page