top of page

March Wrap-Up Time


Hi guys! I know that this last month was a big pile of hot garbage, but the only way to get through it is to go through it! I'm going to take a look at the various physical books and audiobooks that I enjoyed this month, then the ones I plan to get into in April (I know I'm a little late, quarantine isn't being gentle on my sensibilities). I'm really only going to be giving my overall impressions of the books, but if you want to see my full opinions and summaries then check out my full posts located in the blog section!



Physical Books:

Book 1: Into the Water By: Paula Hawkins

7/10


This one wasn't my favorite. In fact, it was actually my least favorite of all the books that I read this month. It was okay, I liked the story alright. My main problem was really with the way it was written. I don't have any problems with Paula Hawkins' writing style itself, but I didn't like the way this book switched perspective so often. Like it switched between 10 people and it would change perspective every 5-10ish pages (bit of an exaggeration but it switched often alright). Its certainly readable, but I think the constant POV switches really detracted from the story.


Book 2: Crescent City: House of Earth and Blood By: Sarah J Maas

9/10


This book was great (dare I say my favorite of the month). It was SJM's first official foray into "adult fiction" and I think she did a great job. The story was engrossing, the characters were likable, and the world was interesting. I got attached to the characters so quickly. I'm afraid to read the next book because I'm so nervous that somebody is going to die. I don't know who yet, but I don't trust it. There was so much feeling woven into this book. I laughed and most of all, I cried. The end is super intense and I can't be blamed for feeling so many feelings. I loved it though. If it weren't for the information dump in the beginning and a couple lingering YA tropes (lightly lingering), it probably would've been a 10/10.


Book 3: A Stolen Life By: Jaycee Dugard

8/10


This was my only nonfiction read of the month. It was hell intense though. Anyone who knows about what happened to Jaycee Dugard can tell you the same. It was a good, quick read. I liked how she included reflections in the chapters which allowed you to see how she personally viewed the story. However, something I really didn't like was the writing. I think this story would've really benefitted from a ghost writer or something. It just had a juvenile edge to it that made it kind of awkward to read. Don't get me wrong, I understand why her writing is like this, I think it just needs to be said. This isn't to say that it reflects badly on her in any way, I think Ms. Dugard was incredibly brave to write her story. She did not hold back and I respect the hell out of it.


Book 4: Sharp Objects By: Gillian Flynn

9.5/10


Okay so I know what you're thinking, how come this book has a higher rating than Crescent City but it wasn't the favorite of the month? Well this book was great, the writing was raw and gritty, the characters weren't shiny and pretty, the story was compelling, but it just wasn't long enough. That isn't a usual complaint from me, but I stand by it. The book was great but it was only about 250 pages long. It could've maintained at least another 50 pages. I think with the added girth it would've been perfect. The book just felt like it was missing some bits of the story. There were some aspects that I would've liked to have been fleshed out at least a little. It is by no means a "light read", it isn't long but the subject matter is heavy. When I say that the writing is raw and gritty, I mean it. Gillian Flynn just has a way with writing messed up characters in such an real light. I can't wait for her next book to come out. I've read her other works and now I'm just getting impatient.


Book 5: The Handmaid's Tale By: Margaret Atwood

8/10


This one is still conflicting for me. It was beautifully written, but there wasn't much driving the story forward. There is no real, discernible plot or really much character development. The majority of the book felt as though you were just being familiarized with the environment. Luckily, that environment was interesting, and that is what saved the book. I'm considering reading The Testaments just to see how it plays out, I know it isn't about Offred, but I'm still kind of curious. Have you read it? Tell me what you thought about it and if it's worth reading. I don't want to bother if nobody found it worthwhile. I want it to add to my experience of Gilead but not if it drags.




Audiobooks


Book 1: Daughters of the Lake By: Wendy Webb

8.5/10


This was my introduction to the free books that are available through Prime Reading and I have to say that I wasn't disappointed. This thriller had everything that I wanted in a book. I really enjoyed the narrator and the story was strong enough to keep my attention. It kind of dragged a bit at the end, the author added in this weird ghost thing that felt like too much. It was kind of tacky, but the rest was really good. I would listen to another book by Wendy Webb if I came across it for sure.


Book 2: Paper Wife By: Laila Ibrahim

8.5/10


This was definitely my favorite audiobook of the month. I don't know how any other audiobook on Prime Reading is going to compare. It was just good and wholesome without being boring. There was also enough "action" or I guess it would be drama, to keep the story moving forward. I got really attached to the characters, especially Mei Ling. If you have Amazon Prime, I implore you to listen to this one. It was just great. The narrator did a great job with the voices too, she really helped to give them a personality and a distinctive voice.


Book 3: Dark Corners Collection (Amazon Originals) By: Misc.

7.5/10


After listening to such a wholesome story I felt like I needed a little bit of horror to keep me going. I found this one when I was looking though the free audiobooks available through Prime Reading (listen, it's free so it's likely all my audiobooks will be coming from here for a while). I saw Jennifer McMahon (who is a favorite) and so I felt like I had to listen. AfterI listened to hers I decided, "Why not keep going?" It was a collection of short storied by various authors. I liked some of the stories more than other, but I felt like it had enough of a mix to satisfy a bunch of different readers. In my review, I ranked the short stories in order by their own individual ratings. Check that out to see my complete feelings.



What's coming in April?

This month I decided against picking a strict TBR like I've been doing. I just keep getting many books and I'm too excited to stick to just a few. I just don't want to be caged. I gave myself a big stack of books to choose from so that I would feel less like I have to stick to a small sack of books. The only ones I'm definitely reading are the ARCs I was sent. They both come out in May so I need to get on them (I'm actually almost finished with one). So, what I'll be leaving you with is the list of books from the Big Stackâ„¢


  • Lolita By: Vladimir Nabokov

  • All My Mother's Lovers By: Ilana Masad (Currently Reading)

  • They Did Bad Things By: Lauren Forry

  • Roxy's Not My Girl By: Renee Coloman

  • Lord of Shadows By: Cassandra Clare

  • The Dark Half By: Stephen King

  • Crown of Midnight By: Sarah J Maas

  • Pretty Girls By: Karin Slaughter

  • Red Queen By: Victoria Aveyard

  • A Court of Thorns and Roses By: Sarah J Maas

  • The Queen of the Damned By: Anne Rice


 
bottom of page