top of page

Interview with the Paper Wife Author: Laila Ibrahim


Recently, I conducted an email interview with the author of Paper Wife, Laila Ibrahim! I couldn't believe that she answered my email. I sent out the offer, expecting to be ignored or rejected. When she responded to me, I was unbelievably excited! She was so sweet and responsive.


The questions I asked are all based around questions that I had while I was listening to Paper Wife; therefore, you should definitely partake in the book. You can for sure read this without knowing anything of the book, but it's certainly more meaningful if you've read it. Luckily, if you have Amazon Prime (not sponsored in the least) you can read and/or listen to it for free! I'm going to be including any pertinent links down below! Now, let's get into this interview!

 


1. Was there someone or something in particular that inspired you to write Paper Wife? When did you get the idea initially?


L.I: I was inspired by Dorothy Eng, our family friend, as well as both of my parents. Dorothy mentioned to me that she was in her mother’s uterus on Angel Island. I new immediately that she had an interesting immigration story. A few years later I went to the Angel Island Immigration Detention Center which was renovated and turned into a museum in 2009. I was struck by the powerful images and history that I knew so little about. When Lake Union gave me a two-book contract—for Mustard Seed, the companion to Yellow Crocus, and whatever else I wanted— I knew that I would dive into a book about an immigrant that traveled through Angel Island.


Both of my parents were immigrants; one for a short time and one permanently. My mother immigrated to Egypt after she married my father. Six years later my father immigrated to the United States where he lived the remainder of his days.


I believe that immigration and immigrants make the United States better. As a nation we are extra innovative and ambitious because of the immigrants who have strong enough drive to leave what they know behind to start again in a new nation.


2. I noticed that there was a great deal of careful detail regarding Chinese culture, especially in the early 20th century. How much research went into the Chinese culture and the historical aspect of the book?


L.I: So much research!! I doubt I would have been a writer before the internet. I don’t have the patience for only library and museum research. But I love internet research.

Just today I spent hours reading the front pages of the Oakland Tribune from 1911 after using the search terms “women’s suffrage” and “NAACP” What a miracle that I can do that! From that information I shape a story around historical events that are quite obscure but so interesting.


3. Was there anything about the Chinese culture that you found particularly interesting while you were doing your research?


L.I: As you can see I was fascinated by the zodiac and its influence on people’s lives.


4. What was the hardest part of writing Paper Wife?


L.I: Because I write about cultures that are not my own I am very sensitive and self-conscious about my ‘right’ to do so and my obligation to ‘get it right.’’ I have check my own cultural and contemporary biases.


5. What was your favorite scene to write? Why this scene?


L.I: I love writing birth scenes. The intensity. The love. The transformation. It always brings tears to my eyes.


6. Is there a character that you feel as though you had become very attached to while writing the story?


L.I: I really loved Siew. She was so loving and resilient.


7. Were any of the characters based on (or just inspired by) someone in your own life? Was there a character that you felt to be similar to yourself?


L.I: I believe my main characters always contain a very, very large part of my personality.


8. If you could do it again, is there anything that you would change about the book?


L.I: Not so far. Though I’m sure over time I will.


9. Do you think that Mei Ling and her new family were ever able to visit her old family back in Guangzhou, or vice versa?


L.I: Sadly, no. World War 2 broke out, then the travel bans to China. There was no going back until well after Mei Ling was too old to travel.


10. What is one important message that you hope people identify with when they read Paper Wife?


L.I: That you can get strength from your loved ones even when they are dead or far away. And the power of Tong Len, the loving kindness meditation.


11. I read online, that you're well-versed in the topic of developmental psychology, particularly attachment theory. In what ways were the themes or ideas of this theory woven into the character development?


L.I: The early scenes with Bo being near catatonic after the loss of his mother was an example of the mourning and detachment process that comes with a loss. Mei Ling and Siew’s ability to get strength from the memory of connection with loved ones are examples of a secure attachment bolstering you over time.


12. Finally, is there anything you'd like to share about any upcoming news? Perhaps potential new releases, public appearances, or maybe another book of your own that you'd like to mention. Here's the time for some self-promotion!


L.I: My next novel, GOLDEN POPPIES, will be released on June 1. I’m very excited to bringing the third installment in the YELLOW CROCUS companion novels.

 

I would like to thank Laila Ibrahim so much for agreeing to this email interview. If you haven't already read or listened to her books then I implore you to do so. I think Paper Wife was amazing, the rawness of the character struggling to do what is right for her family while simultaneously leaving behind everything she's ever known is just so compelling. You don't even have to take my word, Paper Wife has great reviews on Amazon. I for one can't wait to get into her other books! I'm going to leave a bunch of links below if you're interested.




Laila Ibrahim social media links:

Website: http://www.lailaibrahim.com


Book links:


Paper Wife


Mustard Seed


Living Right


bottom of page