top of page

Elevated by "Elevation"


Rating: 9/10


I know that I just rated a different Stephen King book a 9/10, but what can I say? The man can write. This book really caught me off-guard when I read it. It was a super quick read, I read it in about two hours. Elevation tells the story of a man who all of a sudden begins losing weight, though not in the way one would think. Scott Carey is losing his gravitational force. With the impending fear of his weight hitting zero, Scott also makes a move to improve his relationships and to help revitalize the life of the same-sex couple down the street. All the while, Carey is coming to grasp his own mortality, and what is going to happen when he's finally lost from the grip of gravity. How would you act if you didn't have anything weighing you down?


At first, I didn't care for the book. It felt like a thinly-veiled political jab to people with conservative views. However, I encourage everyone to continue reading the book. It's unlike anything King has written before. It doesn't fit into the type that we have labeled King, but that's okay. It's more of a feel good kind of book with the added bonus of an anomalous condition. It had a very heartwarming feel and a very understated, but appropriate ending. The writing, especially at the end, just made me feel good though maybe a little melancholy. It's a quick read and I think that it's one that everyone should read. Incredibly different for King, but also incredibly well-done. It was different, but it wasn't bad at all. Nobody thinks of Stephen King and goes to "feel-good story" but that's what he delivered, and he delivered it well.


bottom of page